top of page

To Summer 2018, Thank You for Everything

They say you should look back and reflect on times like this. Since summer 2018 is coming to a close, I figured it would be the perfect time to commemorate. This summer was life changing. It was the first time I genuinely participated in all activities and events of my life that I wanted too. Filled with good food, great fun, and life changing lessons, I really enjoyed myself.

Foodies

If you know me personally, you probably know how much I love spending money on food. I mean, honestly who doesn’t? When I find a good place to eat at, I immediately become a regular. This can be a good and a bad thing. It’s good because I love supporting local businesses and I always now that I’m going to leave full and satisfied. It’s bad because there’s literally SO many good places to eat at that I need to try. Anyways, I found a few that I think you all should try.

First there’s Don’t Look Back- Triple. They have the best tacos in town, literally. Best part is they’re a la carte and the most expensive taco is $3.50. Seriously, a deal. Next there’s Beauvine Burger, an affordable juicy burger that I just can’t resist. Then there’s Union Market. It’s like a neighborhood Panera but better, with groceries and booze. It’s a little pricey but they give you a lot of food for your buck. Lastly, there’s Brewer’s Cafe, a local coffee shop with the a vibrant yet chill vibe that I just adore. The owner, Aj, is the coolest coffee owner you’ll ever meet.

I promise all of these places are worth trying.

Crossed of the Bucket List.

I finally got to go hiking this summer and it AMAZING!! My parents always said I would be the adventurous one out in the forest and boy were the right. Hiking is literally my new favorite hobby. From the workout to the views, I love it all. I’m seriously getting all giddy inside typing about it. I also finally tried thrifting and if we’re being honest, it’s a lot of work. I definitely like consignment thrifting more mainly because it is less merchandise to look through. Either way, you can find some good stuff at thrift stores and will for sure keep doing it. I can also cross off dancing on a table at a bar/club. Actually I did that at a few...Girls on elevated surfaces are in. Very liberating and uber fun, definitely recommend.

Lessons that Need to be Learned

I like to think that I am mature for my age and with that being said, almost all of my friends are older than me. Most of the time it’s not an issue being the youngest for me, but for some reason this summer it was. I felt like I was behind in life because I didn’t have a full time job, graduated college, let alone turn 21. I finally came to terms with myself that even though I am close in age with my friends, I am in a different stage of my life than they are. And that’s okay, because the path they are taking is different from mine. I learned to stop dwelling on their lives and focus on mine. Being young isn’t THAT bad, I should enjoy my youth for as long as I can. And, just because everyone else around me seems like they are doing better than me, doesn’t necessarily mean they are. We all have our struggles.

I wanted to relocate for the Summer and live at the beach and work at one of the local restaurants. That obviously didn’t happen. I was uber upset at first but as the summer went on, I stopped regretting my decision. In reality, I was trying to move to the beach for the wrong reasons. I figured it would be a way to run away from my problems hoping they would get solved while I was gone. But that’s not how things work; the only way to settle your problems is to handle them. It seems so much easier to run but I realized you are only making it worse for yourself. So, I stopped running and handled them. The outcome wasn’t what I wanted but, at least I know where I stand on that issue. In the end, that’s all that matters.

God works in mysterious and I truly believe everything happens for a reason. I say that now, but we all know how hard it is to think positive in the moments of disappointment. However, life seems to always work itself out.

All in all, Summer 2018 was good to me. I’m grateful for the moments I was able to encounter and I’m thankful for all that happened. So, to Summer 2018, thank you for everything.

Love always,

NKT.

P.S. Pray for those who were affected by Hurricane Florence.

S.N. Take the time to tell the ones you love, you are there for them. Sometimes that’s all they need to hear.


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page