top of page

Views From Bearfence Mountain

Confession... I called out of work yesterday (I never call out of work), and honestly I don’t regret it. After having a rough week at work, I decided I needed a mental health day. My friend Taila mentioned going on a sunset hike and I was all for it!

We left around 4:30 and headed down 64 West toward Skyline Drive in Elkton, Virginia. Even with 5 o’clock traffic, we still made it to the trail in decent timing. I also think time went by fast because we were both uber excited to cherish the sunset and both love road trips. Cruising down US 15, we made a few stops. The first one was to encounter a Free Little library. I had never seen one before but apparently they are all over the place. The concept is actually super cool and unique. Basically people put books they have read into this mini library for others to come and grab to have. You don’t always have to grab one, you can add your own to its collection for someone else to enjoy. Something so little, yet so heartwarming for us book lovers.

We also stopped to appreciate nature and saw a black bear!! It was SO adorable. The lady in the truck in front of us said it was about one years old. For about five minutes we just watched him. He was just minding his own business, eating some flowers. Ya know, just bear things.

We finally made it to the trail around 7:30. The hike up Bearfence Mountain was maybe about a .4 miles. It wasn’t really that long, or that hard. I would say it was easy but from the reviews online, this hike is considered moderate. I definitely am going to invest in some better hiking shoes because I SLID DOWN A ROCK. Don’t worry, I didn’t die or get seriously injured. In fact, Me and Taila actually thought it was pretty funny. We made our way up, and boy..the view was absolutely gorgeous. To top it off it was a 360 view!!

The pictures we took did not even do the sunset or the view any justice because it was amazing. I think I have found a new love for nature. I get to admire God’s work of art every day in so many ways but for some reason, I loved this one the most. The burst of color was life changing. I really can’t even explain in words how I really want to about the feelings I felt looking over the mountains at that beautiful sunset.

8:41..right at sunset.

I for sure can’t wait to go on another hike. Hopefully the next time I go, I’ll be able to go camping too! I’m so glad I called out guys because if I never had, I would not have been able to experience nature in a way that I hadn’t before. I really encourage you all to go on a hike. It’s something you need to experience for yourself. Whether you go for sunrise, midday or sunset, it’s worth it.

With love,

NKT.

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page