top of page

Procrastination at its Finest

The more I experience what us millennials like to call “adult-ing”, the more I realize procrastination is the main reason why adult-ing is kicking my butt. I practically wait to the last minute to do literally everything. While there are plenty of situations I would like to avoid by not procrastinating, procrastination can lead to stress, high anxiety, depression and even low self-esteem. While not all of these negative effects me, I tend to experience stress and anxiety. I know I’m probably not the only one who falls victim to procrastination but, I am one of few who can say it really does affect me.

Procrastination is the root of some of my bad habits that are in desperate need of breaking.As I become more independent, the more I become aware that it is starting to ascend in my daily life. I seriously need to learn on how stop putting things off like, seriously. My favorite excuse to use is definitely “oh I have time, I’ll do it later.” Like uh, news flash LATER IS NOW. My other problem is I can easily get distracted by literally anything. I really really do try to focus on a task but I swear I have the attention span of a squirrel (okay not really, but still.)

Lately, I’ve been reading a few articles about how to break this nasty habit so I wanted to share a few tips I found that I really believe could help me and my fellow procrastinators.

  1. No time for excuses. -- Sorry but excuses don’t make you finish your project sweetie. Here’s some tough love for the both of us- cut the bs and get it done. It’s time to be honest with ourselves and realize we need to cut the attitude and excuses out of our life and recognize we have things to do.

  2. Work in productive environments. -- Working in productive environments helps focus on the task at hand and even removes obstacles from completion. If you are like me, trying to complete a task while watching Netflix = a disaster. So, lets learn to power down or put ourselves in environments without distractions.

  3. Do little by little. -- Basically if we start setting smaller milestones to overcome the big milestone, whatever it is, will be completed and here before you know it. For example, if you need to buy Christmas presents for the entire family (like me, which I still have yet to do, sorry mom), you should buy one maybe two every week and not wait until the last minute to do so.

  4. Let go of perfectionism. -- It’s time to accept the fact that perfectionism hurts more than it helps. Perfectionism holds us back from completing tasks and sometimes even starting. So instead, lets try to focus on being better than being perfect.

From paying my phone bill, to turning assignments in at 11:57 p.m. to buying Christmas presents 3 days before Christmas, I am Princess of Procrastination. However, Queen Get it Done is waiting to be throned and I plan take her crown. These are just a few tips that I’m gonna take in to help me break this habit of procrastination. What about you?

Yours truly,

NKT.

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page