top of page

Please Stop Asking Me

As the holidays are approaching, I am beginning to dread them more and more. Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely LOVE holiday season and family time but, I absolutely can’t stand being asked the same questions repeatedly. I understand you are curious about this time of my life but here’s why I hate being asked these questions. I love you family, I really do but right now I just want to enjoy my holidays and not think about my reality of

Fall sunsets in the neighborhood

life. So please, please stop asking me…

What are you majoring in? Have you thought about changing your major that’s related to STEM?*

Yes, I am majoring in Mass Communications. No, I do not want to major in anything STEM related. STEM is not for everyone, and it is truly not for me. To anyone who is majoring in STEM, go you and to anyone who is not majoring in STEM, you rock too!! I love my major and I do not plan on changing it. I am aware that the careers that fall under my degree will not make the money of a doctor but, guess what? I AM OKAY WITH THAT!! If I’m enjoying my career, paying my bills on time and living my life to the fullest, I will have accomplished what I needed to do with my degree.

What are your plans after college?

Honestly, I don’t even know what my plans are for tonight, so asking me what my plans after college is definitely something I cannot answer for you. I truly have no idea. As of right now, my focus is graduating on time.

Are you dating anyone?

My answer to this question is generally “no I’m really trying to focus on my academics and finding myself.” Sorry to disappoint but I am single. Sadly, I have not found my significant other yet. While I am focusing on my academics and trying to find myself, I am trying to find my special someone too. When I do start dating someone, I will make sure I let you know.

The truth is, I’m just trying to enjoy every moment I can, avoid talking about anything related to school or “adult-ing” and, mainly just want to stuff my face with the most ham, mac and cheese and, sweet potato casserole this holiday season. Is that too much to ask? I wish I had my life more planned then I do, (believe me I do) but unfortunately, I don’t. I know you are interested in hearing about my life but, please avoid asking these questions because they make me insanely uncomfortable and irritable. Instead, let me tell you my experiences and what I have learned from college. Those are just as interesting topics to hear me talk about. Like I said earlier, I love you family I really do, but please stop asking me...

With love,

NKT.

*STEM stands for Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics*


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page